Friday, November 30, 2012

Happy Holidays!

Dear readers,
We'll be taking a holiday break for the next several weeks, but we'll be back after the new year with more vintage details for you. We wish each and every one of you a blessed and safe holiday season and our best wishes for a wonderful new year!

Jody and Pam

Thursday, November 29, 2012

Vintage 70s Plush Faux Fur Coat

A vintage 1970s Faux Fur Coat has leather trim.

Wednesday, November 28, 2012

1940s Beaded Dress

Beads in the shape of a bow accent the neckline of this 1940s dress.  The blue beads are very subtle against the black.

Tuesday, November 27, 2012

Vintage 60s Black Lace Party Prom Dress

A vintage 1960s dress has a sweetheart bustline with a black lace overlay.

Monday, November 26, 2012

1950s Full Skirt Party Dress

A pretty bow with a rose at the center accents the back waist of this 1950s strapless party dress.

Thursday, November 22, 2012

Happy Thanksgiving!

Jody & Pam wish you a very Happy Thanksgiving! Enjoy your day and celebrate by giving Thanks to those you love! We are thankful for our followers each and every day. Don't forget those waistlines!

Wednesday, November 21, 2012

1950s Pat Sandler Cocktail Dress

This 1950s cocktail dress by Pat Sandler is made of Asian jacquard fabric that is covered with sequins and rhinestones.

Tuesday, November 20, 2012

1980s Gold Toned Givenchy Earrings

A pair of 1980s earrings have the Givenchy logo cast dimensionally on the front.

Monday, November 19, 2012

1940s Beaded Purse

This 1940s purse by Dormar is completely covered in copper colored glass beads.

Friday, November 16, 2012

Vintage Diane Von Furstenberg Scarf

A vintage scarf has the designers name in a repeat pattern making up the print.

Thursday, November 15, 2012

Edwardian Petit Point Purse

The tiniest of hand worked petit point stitches adorn the front of this black silk handbag dating to the Edwardian era.

Wednesday, November 14, 2012

Vintge 80s Floral Embroidered Beaded Sweater

A 1980s sweater has a floral embroidered beaded bodice.

Tuesday, November 13, 2012

1960s Cocktail Dress

Little bows decorate the side seams of this 1960s black silk cocktail dress.

Friday, November 9, 2012

Vintage Mohair Scarf with Pockets

A vintage mohair scarf has a fringed pocket at each end.

Wednesday, November 7, 2012

Vintage 1911 Furs

Vintage McCalls Magazine page of furs and fashion from 1911.

Tuesday, November 6, 2012

1940s Beaded Dress

This 1940s beaded dress has a diamond shaped keyhole opening at the neckline.

Monday, November 5, 2012

1970s Alice of California Jacket

An vintage 70s Asian jacket by Alice of California has a frog closure at the mandarin neckline.

Friday, November 2, 2012

1920s Dress and Coat Set

Loops and embroidery stitches decorate the side seams of this 1920s coat and dress ensemble.

Thursday, November 1, 2012

1970s Hang Ten Sweater

A vintage 1970s Hang Ten sweater has the logo knit into the front panel.

Wednesday, October 31, 2012

1960s Brocade Dress

This 1960s metallic brocade party dress has big sparkly pink rhinestone buttons that close up the left front side.

Tuesday, October 30, 2012

1980s Mohair Jacket by Geoffrey Beene

The collar of a 1980s Geoffrey Beene mohair jacket closes with a bow.

Monday, October 29, 2012

1960s Hostess Set

Large paillette sequins decorate wool herringbone in this 1960s hostess ensemble consisting of a top and maxi skirt.

Friday, October 26, 2012

1980s Jean Muir Coat

A vintage 80s Jean Muir wool coat has a large collar and textured metal buttons.

Wednesday, October 24, 2012

Tuesday, October 23, 2012

1960s Velvet Evening Dress

The neckline of this 1960s velvet dress is adorned with elaborate metallic gold braid and rhinestones.

Monday, October 22, 2012

Vintage 60s Bonnie Cashin Leather Coat

The collar of a vintage 1960s leather coat by Bonnie Cashin has a toggle closure.

Friday, October 19, 2012

1940s Sequined Peplum Dress

A sequined heart on a stem decorates the bodice of this 1940s dress with peplum.

Thursday, October 18, 2012

1950s Jantzen Swimsuit

A vintage 50s Jantzen swimsuit is completely shirred with elastic across the back of the suit.

Wednesday, October 17, 2012

1960s Silver Brocade Dress

The front waist of this 1960s silver brocade party dress is decorated with thick self-fabric cords that are braided and finished with knot buttons.

Tuesday, October 16, 2012

Vintage 80s Draped Jersey Dress

A 1980s black jersey dress has a large draped waistband which is gathered on each side.

Friday, October 12, 2012

Vintage Michael Hoban Red Leather Dress

A vintage 80s Michael Hoban red leather dress has a snap at the back neckline and waist with a large open back.

Thursday, October 11, 2012

1950s Leonard Arkin Silk Suit

This 1950s Leonard Arkin ensemble consists of a dress with matching jacket.  The jacket has metal studs and little dingle ball decoration at the collar and hem.

Wednesday, October 10, 2012

Vintage Vera Neuman

A set of vintage Vera Neumann cotton napkins has a mod grape abstract print.

Tuesday, October 9, 2012

1950s Seymour Jacobson Dress

The bodice of this 1950s Seymour Jacobson dress is cut on the bias so the cowl neckline in the back can fall in graceful folds.

Monday, October 8, 2012

Vintage Albert Nipon Dress

A vintage 80's Albert Nipon silk dress has a circular floral motif at the waistline.

Friday, October 5, 2012

1960s Velvet Cocktail Dress

This 1960s velvet dress features a self-fabric ruffle around the neckline.

Thursday, October 4, 2012

1980s Perry Ellis Pockets

A 1980s Vogue Pattern designed by Perry Ellis has three variations on the waistband and pocket treatments.

Wednesday, October 3, 2012

1980s Silk Cocktail Dress

The bodice of this 1980s cocktail dress by St. Gillian is covered in tucks and pleats that are draped over the figure.

Tuesday, October 2, 2012

70's Alice of California Dress

A vintage 70s Alice of California maxi dress has a square piped neckline.

Monday, October 1, 2012

1930s Evening Gown

Smocking stitches form a half circle at the waist of this 1930s evening gown and give fullness to the skirt.

Thursday, September 27, 2012

1960s Shannon Rodgers Dress

This 1960s Mod era dress by Shannon Rodgers for Jerry Silverman has big patch pockets and decorative top stitching.

Wednesday, September 26, 2012

Vintage 60s Hawaiian Dress

A 1960s Hawaiian dress has fly-away hip panels that extend from the waistline.

Tuesday, September 25, 2012

1950s Suzy Perette Dress

The double bust cup treatment on this 1950s gold metallic Suzy Perette dress is known as a petal bust.

Monday, September 24, 2012

1950s Linen Dress

A vintage 1950s linen dress has a rhinestone studded collar.

Friday, September 21, 2012

1950s Emma Domb Evening Gown

The bodice of this 1950s evening gown by Emma Domb is covered in swirls of iridescent sequins, beads and rhinestones.

Thursday, September 20, 2012

1980s Jean Muir Dress

The waistline of a Jean Muir dress has inverted pleats adding fullness to the hips.

Wednesday, September 19, 2012

1950s Novelty Print Blouse

This money themed novelty print blouse from the late 1950s has little gold coins attached to the front as decoration.

Tuesday, September 18, 2012

1940s Vintage High Waist Wool Pants

A pair of 1940s wool pants have 13 anchor buttons fastening the front closing the high waist.

Monday, September 17, 2012

1940s Suit

While not hiding pockets, the curved extensions on this 1940s suit from Bonwit Teller are in the spot where a pocket would normally go.  The curved pieces echo a similar decoration on the collar.

Friday, September 14, 2012

1950s Gabardine Suit Jacket

This vintage 50s black wool gabardine suit jacket has a double shawl collar.  The outer silk collar is attached with hand stitches and can be easily removed for a second, less dressy look.