Tuesday, November 29, 2011

Holiday Break

Dear readers,
We'll be taking a holiday break for the next several weeks, but we'll be back after the new year with more vintage details for you. We wish each and every one of you a blessed and safe holiday season and our best wishes for a wonderful new year!

Jody and Pam

Monday, November 28, 2011

Vintage 1960s Vera Neumann Scarf

A 1960s silk scarf has a Vera signature with the ladybug. Vera used the ladybug as a symbol in her work because it means good luck in every language.

Wednesday, November 23, 2011

1970s Eugenia Santambrogio Blouse and Skirt

After much detective work and help from friends, the signature printed in the fabric of this 1970s blouse and skirt set revealed itself to be Eugenia Santambrogio.

Tuesday, November 22, 2011

1970s Lilli Ann Jacket

A 1970s Lilli Ann jacket has a base fabric which has wool yarn sewn to the top in a scallop like fashion.

Monday, November 21, 2011

1960s Chester Weinberg Dress

This 1960s orange wool dress by Chester Weinberg has a belt with a large lion's head buckle.

Friday, November 18, 2011

Vintage 60s Metallic Brocade Coat

A 1960s metallic brocade coat has self fabric domed buttons and a nehru band collar.

Thursday, November 17, 2011

1940s Patriotic Suit

This 1940s suit is decorated with curving slot seams that reveal a red backing.  The suit also has patriotic eagle buttons.

Wednesday, November 16, 2011

Vintage 1950s Silver & Gold Swimsuit

Silver and gold braid trims the bodice and creates a halter neckline on a vintage 1950s swimsuit.

Tuesday, November 15, 2011

1960s Helen Rose Cocktail Dress

A huge circular rhinestone buckle decorates the front waist of this 1960s silk cocktail dress by Helen Rose.

Monday, November 14, 2011

Vintage 1930s High Waist Swimsuit

The front of a 1930s high waist swimsuit bottom has diamond shaped pintucks in the knit.

Friday, November 11, 2011

Vintage 60s Beaded Dress

The hem and sleeve cuffs of this 1960s party dress are trimmed in rows of beaded fringe.

Thursday, November 10, 2011

Vintage 60s Laced Swimsuit

A vintage 1960s Swimsuit is laced up the sides seams creating a peek-a-boo side panel.

Wednesday, November 9, 2011

1970s Couture Copy Silk Blouse

The sleeves on this 1970s silk blouse by Bergdorf Goodman's custom department show a true couture technique.  The sleeves are constructed so the cuffs curve gently in to follow the natural line of the arm.

Tuesday, November 8, 2011

Vintage 60s Pendelton Robe

A 1960s Pendleton robe has a large shawl collar trimmed with braid.

Monday, November 7, 2011

1950s Henri Bendel Dress

This 1950s dress by Henri Bendel was made in their custom department.  Note how perfectly the plaid is matched at the seams, the collar, and from one side of the buttoned bodice to the other.

Thursday, November 3, 2011

1990s Arnold Scaasi Boutique Dress

The shoulders of this 1990s Scaasi Boutique dress are adorned with silk satin bows.

Wednesday, November 2, 2011

Vintage 1980s Studded Shoes

A pair of 1980s shoes has cutouts in the leather which are backed with coordinating colors. Studs are also present.

Tuesday, November 1, 2011

1960s Illusion Lace Dress

The bodice of this 1960s cocktail dress is made of heavy cotton Venice lace backed with tan satin for a nude illusion effect.

Monday, October 31, 2011

1940s Ribbon Weave Fabric

Vintage 1940s fabric has an embroidered surface which has ribbon work woven on top.

Friday, October 28, 2011

1950s Party Dress

The bustline of this 1950s party dress is accented with ruffles of crystal pleated tulle in pink and black.

Thursday, October 27, 2011

1950s Ribbon Accented Beret hat

A 1950s wool hat has a pleated fringed ribbon around the brow.

Wednesday, October 26, 2011

1950s Jerry Parnis Dress

The bodice of this 1950s dress by Jerry Parnis is decorated with clusters of beads and paillette sequins.

Tuesday, October 25, 2011

Vintage 1980s Purple Leather Studded Shoes

A pair of 1980s purple leather shoes have brass studs and confetti shaped cutouts in the leather.

Monday, October 24, 2011

1960s Christian Dior New York Silk Suit

The braid that edges the jacket on this 1960s suit by Christian Dior New York ends in little bows at the back.

Friday, October 21, 2011

1970s Border Print Linen Dress

A vintage 1970s semi sheer lightweight linen dress has a border print along the hemline.

Thursday, October 20, 2011

1960s Edith Small Beaded Dress

Designer Edith Small adds fullness to the bust of this 1950s beaded silk dress by using tucks at the top of the shoulders.

Wednesday, October 19, 2011

Vintage 60s Wool Coat with Fur Collar

A soft wool 1960s coat has a mink collar.

Tuesday, October 18, 2011

1960s Pat Sandler Party Dress

The bodice of this 1960s party dress by Pat Sandler is covered in elaborate beading with beaded fringe around the neckline and armholes.

Monday, October 17, 2011

Vintage 1970s Gunne Sax Dress

Eyelet lace forms the high collar on a 1970s Gunne Sax maxi dress.

Friday, October 14, 2011

1960s Jeweled Party Dress

The skirt of this late 1960s party dress is adorned with appliqued black velvet bands, silver braid, metal studs, rhinestones, and pieces of silver mylar.

Thursday, October 13, 2011

Wednesday, October 12, 2011

1930s Evening Gown

The mermaid hem of this 1930s evening gown is made of individually sewn petals attached to a black netting skirt.

Tuesday, October 11, 2011

Vintage 70s Nik Nik Paisley Silk Scarf

A 1970s silk scarf has the designer signature in the print.

Monday, October 10, 2011

1990s Adolfo Suit

This 1990s power suit by Adolfo features leather insets at the pockets and on the collar.

Friday, October 7, 2011

Embroidered Ethnic Blouse

A 1960s ethnic blouse is hand embroidered and was made in Yugoslavia.

Thursday, October 6, 2011

1960s Branell Dress and Coat Set

This 1960s dress and coat set by Branell is made from a wool plaid.  The plaid is matched perfectly at all the seams.  The coat plaid also matches the dress plaid perfectly.

Tuesday, October 4, 2011

1950s Irene Lentz Suit

This late 1950s suit by Irene Lentz has an unusual floating panel on the back of the jacket that is open only on the left side.

Monday, October 3, 2011

Friday, September 30, 2011

1960s Kay Selig Dress

The skirt of this 1960s dress by Kay Selig is covered in vertical rows of chiffon ruffles.

Thursday, September 29, 2011

1950s Pendleton Wool 49er Jacket

A vintage 1950s Pendleton 49er jacket has a large patch pocket at the chest.

Wednesday, September 28, 2011

1970s Oscar de la Renta Knit Dress

This 1970s Oscar de la Renta dress is hand knit in an openwork pattern.  The yoke is accented with crochet.

Tuesday, September 27, 2011

Vintage 60s Peacock Feather Muu Muu Housecoat

A 1960s Muu muu is made from a peacock print fabric.

Monday, September 26, 2011

1970s Maxi Coat

This 1970s evening coat is maxi in length and has feathers at the collar.

Friday, September 23, 2011

Vintage 1970s T-Strap Rangoni Reptile Shoes

A pair of 1970s Rangoli T-strap shoes are made from multicolored reptile skin.

Thursday, September 22, 2011

1960s Mod Coat by Michael Novarese

The wild print on this 1960s coat by Michael Novarese is perfectly matched at the front opening edges.

Wednesday, September 21, 2011

Vintage 1970s Ethnic Metallic Maxi Skirt

A vintage 1970s maxi skirt has metallic threads making up the ethnic weave in a neospun jersey fabric called Courtelle.

Tuesday, September 20, 2011

1950s Monkey Sweater

The monkeys that decorate this 1950s sweater are knitted in intarsia style. The monkeys are actually knitted in metal yarn and the sweater has embroidered details.

Monday, September 19, 2011

Vintage 60s Black Eyelet Dress

The waist of a 1960s black eyelet dress is tailored with piping and gathered to give a ruched effect.

Friday, September 16, 2011

1940s Philip Mangone Coat

This vintage 1940s coat by Philip Mangone has lantern style sleeves.

Thursday, September 15, 2011

Lily Print Vintage Velvet Maxi Skirt

A 1960s Mr Dino velvet skirt has a large lily in the print.