Monday, November 30, 2009

1960s Chanel Copy Suit

Bands of fabric are attached at the ends of the sleeves on this 1960s Jablow Chanel copy suit. At a time when women kept their suit jackets buttoned, adding a faux sleeve cuff gave the illusion that one was wearing a blouse without an added layer under the jacket.

Friday, November 27, 2009

Vintage 80s Jumpsuit with Overskirt

A new with tags strapless jumpsuit has a heavily embellished sequined top with an attached overskirt over the skinny pant legs.

Thursday, November 26, 2009

1940s Tilt Hat

A 1940s "doll" or "toy" tilt hat is decorated with large pink bugle beads that form a leaf pattern.

Wednesday, November 25, 2009

Vintage 60s 70s Mary Jane Gingham Neoprene BeaverTail Wetsuit

A 1960s 70s Mary Jane Wetsuit has a beavertail bottom with two twist lock closures.

Tuesday, November 24, 2009

1960s Oscar de la Renta Dress

De la Renta cuts long panels of the stripe and inserts them vertically at the front princess seams for visual interest in this late 1960s maxi dress.

Monday, November 23, 2009

Vintage 80s Schiaparelli Pink Clutch Swing Coat Large Collar & Huge Patch Pockets

A 1980s pink wool coat has a huge cape collar and extra large patch pockets.

Friday, November 20, 2009

Vintage 50s Cocktail Dress

The bodice of this 1950s cocktail dress has two "crumb-catcher" panels that float away from the beaded satin to accent the bust.

Thursday, November 19, 2009

Vintage 60s Textural Wool Cadillac Black Dress

A 1960s Cadillac black wool dress has a raised rib texture throughout the knit fabric of the dress.

Wednesday, November 18, 2009

1950s Navy Draped & Tucked Dress

Tucks radiate out from the left side waist on this 1950s dress.

Tuesday, November 17, 2009

Vintage 60s Designer Jack Bryan Paisley Chiffon Halter Dress

The halter neckline on a 1960s designer gown is softly pleated at the back neckline which gives softness and fullness to the chiffon overlay on the front of the bodice.

Monday, November 16, 2009

Vintage 40s Suit

The round cylinder shaped buttons, while worn, are still as interesting as can be. The buttons are sewn on edge and stand up and away from the suit when buttoned.

Friday, November 13, 2009

Vintage 70s Signed Shaheen Greyhound Dog Maxi Skirt

An unusual dog print on a 1970s maxi skirt is signed by Shaheen.

Thursday, November 12, 2009

1970s Goldworm Matisse Art Print Dress

The print on this 1970s Goldworm dress is a copy of Matisse's painting "Interior in Aubergines".

Wednesday, November 11, 2009

Vintage 60s Butte Knit Black Dress Lace Collar & Sleeves

A 1960s Butte Knit dress has a scalloped lace neckline.

Tuesday, November 10, 2009

1990s Moschino Cheap 'n Chic Dress

This 1990s dress by Moschino Cheap 'n Chic has a large round buckle at the front waist and the seams are edged with red topstitching.

Monday, November 9, 2009

1960s Textural Wool Cadillac Black Dress

Alternating ribbed and flat knit panels of textured ribbed wool create a stunning visual effect on a black raglan long sleeve wool dress designed in Italy for Cadillac.

Friday, November 6, 2009

1950s Satin Ball Gown

Petal points on the bust of this 1950s ball gown can be worn up or down.

Thursday, November 5, 2009

Vintage 30s Fashion Originators Guild Black Velvet Ermine Trim Dressing Gown

The collar, pockets and front button closure on a 1930s black velvet dressing gown are all trimmed in Ermine fur.

Wednesday, November 4, 2009

1950s Patullo Jo Copeland Cocktail Dress

The bodice of this vintage 1950s one-shoulder cocktail dress by Patullo Jo Copeland is accented with a huge bow.

Tuesday, November 3, 2009

Vintage Kasper Embroidered Dirndl Dress

A vintage dirndle dress has a zip front closure and a fully embroidered bodice with rick rack trim.

Monday, November 2, 2009

1980s Pauline Trigere Silk Suit

Black rhinestones are applied to the blouse of a Pauline Trigere 1980s suit. The design of the rhinestones matches the print of the silk faille used for the jacket and skirt.